The South African cricket team takes on Sri Lanka in Colombo. At stake for the visitors is the highly prized ICC number one ranking in test matches. For the home side, they will want to avoid defeat in the 2 match series. This comes after the Proteas won the first test match in Galle thanks to their pace duo of Dale Steyn and Morne Morkel.

All the Proteas need to do to regain the number one ranking is to avoid defeat. The venue is the Sinhalese Sports Club Ground in Colombo, known for being a bit of a highway. It is the very ground where Kumar Sangakarra and Mahela Jayawardene formed a record partnership of 624. This should suggest a draw is very likely. AccuWeather is predicting a bit of rain too which wont be good news for the SriLanka cricketers. 

The South Africans are playing under a new captain in Hashim Amla. This is one of a few changes which have taken place in the Proteas squad of late with long serving captain Graeme Smith (pictured) and  all-rounder Jaques Kallis having both recently called and end to their test careers. Amla showed signs of aggressiveness in his first test match as captain by calling a risky declaration which left the door slightly open for SriLanka to steal a victory. Proteas pace duo Dale Steyn and Morne Morkel took 16 wickets in the match on a track which was expected to suit the home side’s spin attack to hand the visitors a huge victory.

If any of the two sides are going to win this match, they will need to bat well, and at a decent rate too if they want to leave enough time to take the 20 wickets required for a win.

Venue: Sinhalese Sports Club Ground, Colombo

Date: Thursday, July 24—Monday, July 28

Start time: 5:30 a.m. BST (10 a.m. local time)

TV and live stream: SuperSport (South Africa), PTV Sports (Pakistan), Ten Sports (Sri Lanka), Orbit Show Network (Middle East)


South Africa Quinton de Kock(w), Alviro Petersen, Hashim Amla(c), AB de Villiers, Jean-Paul DuminyFaf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Vernon Philander, DaleSteynMorne MorkelImran Tahir, Kyle Abbott, Wayne Parnell, DanePiedtStiaan van Zyl

Sri Lanka Upul TharangaKaushal Silva, Kumar SangakkaraMahelaJayawardene, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews(c), DineshChandimal(w), Rangana HerathAjantha MendisSuranga Lakmal,Dhammika PrasadShaminda ErangaChanaka Welegedara,Kithuruwan VithanageDilruwan Perera