Rilee Rossouw and Mthokozisi Shezi are set to feature in the upcoming ODI series between hosts Zimbabwe and South Africa. The panel of selectors opted to rest their regular pacemen in Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel and Vernon Philander. The trio are set to return for the triangular series with Australia, which follows immediately afterwards.

Mthokozisi Shezi has been in stellar form for South Africa A. He was their second-highest wicket-taker in the quadrangular series in Australia with 11 wickets at an average of 14.90. The lead wicket taker in that tournament, Merchant de Langer, has also been included in the side. Another player who has been in fine nick is Rilee Rossouw.

“He [Rossouw] has also been a consistent performer in franchise cricket for some time and his selection is well deserved,” Andrew Hudson, South Africa’s convener of selectors said. “The message is clear to all our players: if you perform at domestic level and then take it through to SA A level, you will be rewarded.”

South Africa squad for Zimbabwe ODIs:

AB de Villiers (capt), Hashim Amla, Kyle Abbott, Quinton de Kock, Marchant de Lange, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Beuran Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Rilee Rossouw, Mthokozisi Shezi