Following a T20 lesson at the hands of the West Indies and Chris Gale, South Africa will be looking to set things right as they take on the islanders in the first of 5 ODIs on Friday, 16 January 2015.

Match:  South Africa vs West Indies 1st ODI

Date:     Friday, 16 January 2015

Venue:  Kingsmead, Durban

With the ICC World Cup around the corner, this series will serve as the last opportunity for the teams to get into some 50 over form. Both teams were drawn in the same pool for the World Cup, as such, both will be looking to dominate the 5 match series with the hope of having the psychological edge when they meet at the SCG on the 27th of February.

Proteas ODI captain A.B. de Villiers

Proteas ODI captain A.B. de Villiers

The first match will be played at Kingsmead in the coastal city of Durban, which also played host to Wednesday night’s 3rd and final T20 international where South Africa emerged victorious by 69 runs. The Windies had already sealed the series thanks to two incredible knocks by Chris Gale in Cape Town an Johannesburg respectively.

Pitch conditions at Kingsmead have historically favoured slower bowlers. The ground is also not the largest in the country by any stretch of the imagination so a high scoring game is quite like, particularly if local boy Morne van Wyk gets his eye in. Chris Gale, the big hitting Jamaican, will also enjoy the short boundaries square of the wicket.

Team News

South Africa

The Proteas welcome back captain A.B. de Villiers, Hashim Amla, Dale Steyn and Morne Morkel, all of whom were being rested during the recent T20 international series. Quinton de Kock misses out as he battles injury while J.P. Duminy, who returned to the South African team during Wednesday nights game, will provide some experience in the middle order.

AB de Villiers (capt), Hashim Amla, Kyle Abbott, Farhaan Behardien, Morne van Wyk (wk), JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Vernon Philander, Rilee Rossouw, Dale Steyn

West Indies batsman Chris Gayle

West Indies batsman Chris Gayle

West Indies

Much of the build up to this series has been dominated by the surprise exclusion of all-rounder duo Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard from the West Indies ODI team from both this series, as well as the upcoming World Cup. Chris Gayle, who is in the side, has called the decision to exclude the talented players “ridiculous“. Jason Holder will captain the side.

Jason Holder (capt), Sulieman Benn, Carlos Brathwaite, Jonathan Carter, Sheldon Cottrell, Narsingh Deonarine, Leon Johnson, Chris Gayle, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith, Jerome Taylor

Tickets available from TicketPro starting at R90 for scholars.